Words Are Not Enough

how does one thank someone 
who puts our needs above his own,
who blankets us in support
picking up the slack while we grow?

how does one thank someone
who cradled my babies in his arms,
and always in his heart
as they face the risk of harm?

how does one thank someone
who leads with love and logic, too,
checking ego at the door 
while we evolve, always anew?

how does one thank the husband
who inspires us all everyday,
the father of my children, 
the epitome of love in every way?

a few spoken words could never be enough
to express what my heart has to say,
so I’ll keep showing my love and gratitude,
for this amazing man, every day

-image via Pixabay

9 thoughts on “Words Are Not Enough

  1. i love the checking ego at the door, something that is so crucial in a relationship. Like saying sorry when it’s the correct time and being sincere and honest about his feelings, this man is a gem, I am glad he is the one that cradles your babies and your heart, it also brings out the beautiful woman you are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment