Stardust

illuminated by the heavens,
I stood, gazing at the night,
the cool stillness surrounding me,
as shadowed limb’s impossible angles reached to the gods,
in reverence,
some leaning above me, protectively,
as if nature herself
was guarding me,
making significant my connection
to the sacred ground
beneath my feet

only when I felt you drawing near,
was my focus averted,
suddenly, sensing you all around,
enveloping me,
penetrating my depths,
a familiar pulling,
your stardust soul,
from afar trying to gather
the dust of mine,
desperate to shelter
it’s innocent sparkle

naturally, my body
gravitated toward yours,
the arch of my back,
the curve of my hips,
the bend in each and every muscle had become the outline
of your silhouette

my life line longed
to be rooted to yours,
just as the tree above me
was rooted to Mother Earth,
and she to the heavens above

my breathing slowed
as we merged, syncing to yours,
time’s passing stopped,
my chest’s rise against your arms
the only tangible evidence
of earthly life

behind my closed eyelids
danced a kaleidoscope of light,
stardust joining stardust,
one collective soul

my body had attained
memory of you,
but our souls had
achieved much more,
and I knew we’d gained something
only the spirits are privy to

